Tuesday, February 28, 2012

CRS 2012 Artist and Radio Humanitarian Award Winners

(Nashville, Tenn. – Feb. 22, 2012)  The CRS Radio and Artist Humanitarian Awards were handed out today on the opening day of CRS 2012, held Feb. 22-24 in downtown Nashville at the Nashville Convention Center.

The 2012 Radio Humanitarian winners are KMOK/Lewiston, Idaho (Small Market), WIVK/Knoxville, Tenn. (Medium Market) and WLHK/Indianapolis, Ind. (Large Market).  As previously announced, the Artist Humanitarian Award winner is Rascal Flatts.  CRS President Mike Culotta and Radio Ink’s Lois Chooljian presented the awards at 10:30 a.m., immediately following the CRS Keynote Address.

Small Market Winner: 106.9 KMOK/Lewiston, Idaho -
Lewiston’s KMOK was instrumental in dozens of local humanitarian efforts in 2011, including National Night Out Against Crime, Pet of the Week, Lewis Clark Animal Shelter’s Dog Swim, Coats for the Cold, Annual Life Safety Day, United Way Day of Caring, Relay for Life, Earth Day, Jackson Baldwin Foundation, Jog for Jugs, Wounded Warriors Project, Cruising to Clarkston and numerous others.

Medium Market Winner: 107.7 WIVK/Knoxville, Tenn. -
WIVK’s contributions to fundraising efforts helped raise a total of more than $12.9 million in 2011.  Campaigns included: the HonorAir Radiothon, Voices from the Front, Coats for the Cold, Stuff the Bus, a Susan G. Komen benefit concert and the Teddy Bear Round Up.  WIVK sponsored dozens of events, such as the “Real Steel” movie premiere, Buddy’s Race Against Cancer, Fantasy of Trees for Children’s Hospital, Great Rubber Duck Race for Boys & Girls’ Club, ADA Step Out Walk, Knoxville Zoo and more.

Large Market Winner: 97.1 WLHK/Indianapolis, Ind. -
Indianapolis’ HANK FM/97.1 continued its avid support for Habitat For Humanity in 2011, building a five bedroom house at the Indiana State Fair in just 15 days.  The station hosted a Santa’s Secret Star benefit concert for the Salvation Army during Christmas, debuted its Christmas Angel program, received national media attention for Cheri’s Chores, partnered with the Indianapolis Colts to host the Big Blue Drive-Through for tornado relief and was instrumental in efforts supporting the victims at the Indiana State Fair tragedy.

Rascal Flatts received the 2012 Artist Humanitarian award for their charitable contributions and humanitarian endeavors throughout their career.   In 2010, the group donated $3 million to the Monroe Carell Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt’s Pediatric Surgery Center.  They currently serve as celebrity spokespersons for the national suicide prevention organization, The Jason Foundation, and have been members of the American Red Cross Celebrity Cabinet for the past seven years.

About the CRS Artist Humanitarian Award:
The CRB Artist Humanitarian Award was created in 1990 to honor those Country music artists who have exhibited exceptional humanitarian efforts during their career.  Past recipients of the annual award have included Trace Adkins, Brad Paisley, Brooks & Dunn, Garth Brooks, Charlie Daniels and Kenny Rogers, among others.

About the
CRS Radio Humanitarian Awards:
The CRB Radio Humanitarian Awards are presented to full-time Country radio stations for notable public service initiatives that improve the quality of life for the communities they serve.  The annual awards are presented to stations in three categories: Large (markets 1-50), Medium (markets 51-130), and Small (markets 131+).

About Country Radio Seminar:
Country Radio Seminar is an annual convention designed to educate and promote the exchange of ideas and business practices in the Country music industry, with specific emphasis on issues relevant to Country radio.  CRS 2012 will be held Feb. 22-24, 2012, in downtown Nashville, Tenn., at the Nashville Convention Center.  Visit  www.CountryRadioSeminar.com for more information.  Country Radio Seminar is a property of Country Radio Broadcasters.
Pictured below, CRS 2012 Artist Humanitarian Award winners Rascal Flatts.  L to R:  RF’s Jay DeMarcus, RF manager Clarence Spalding, CRS Executive Director Bill Mayne, RF’s Gary LeVox, Radio Ink Magazine’s Lois Chooljian, CRS President Mike Culotta, RF’s Joe Don Rooney.  Photo: Bev Moser.


No comments:

Post a Comment